Casting Call for The Lanterns at Chester Zoo

Wild Rumpus are looking for actors, street performers and puppeteers for The Lanterns 2018, Chester Zoo’s main Christmas event. Audiences will be invited to experience a beautiful festive journey of light, lanterns, costumed animal characters and beautiful installations.

 

Production title: The Lanterns

Production location: Chester Zoo

Production Company: Wild Rumpus

Company website: www.wildrumpus.org.uk | www.chesterzoo.org/whats-happening/christmas/the-lanterns

Day rate: £150 per day over 18 days. £100 for fittings/workshops (2 days).

Gender: Male and Female (18+)

Travel: Must be able to make your own way to Chester Zoo on a daily basis.

Accommodation and Meals: No accommodation or meals provided (teas/coffees only).

Weather: Please bear in mind that performers will be required to perform outdoors, 5h each evening.

Skills required: We are looking for performers with experience of:

  • Street arts/outdoor performance
  • Interacting with family audiences
  • Puppeteer experience would be an advantage
  • Strong improvisation skills

Roles required: A variety of illuminated costumed animal characters including snails, white rabbit, Emus, Giraffes, Penguins, Reindeers, and puppeteers to manipulate small woodland creatures.

Costume fittings/workshops: Monday 19th November (fittings/workshops) and Wednesday 21st November (workshop/dress rehearsals)

 

Performance Dates:

 

Day 2018 Dates
Friday 23-Nov
Saturday 24-Nov
Sunday 25-Nov
Friday 30-Nov
Saturday 01-Dec
Sunday 02-Dec
Friday 07-Dec
Saturday 08-Dec
Sunday 09-Dec
Thursday 13-Dec
Friday 14-Dec
Saturday 15-Dec
Sunday 16-Dec
Wednesday 19-Dec
Thursday 20-Dec
Friday 21-Dec
Saturday 22-Dec
Sunday 23-Dec

Please note performers will need to be available for all of the above dates.

 

How to apply?

Please send your cover letter, CV and showreel (if possible) to anais.biaux@wildrumpus.org.uk by 5pm on Tuesday 4th September stating “Lanterns Performer Application” in the title of your email. Please note that we will be unable to acknowledge your application until the closing date.

 

Audition: You must be able to attend an audition on Monday 10th September at our Woodland office in Cheshire: Whirligig, School Wood, Lunts Moss, Scholar Green, Cheshire ST7 3QJ.

 

 

Thank you!